The Big Bad Working World

Well it’s been three weeks since I dropped out of college. Next stop? Find a job. Luckily I found one quite quickly, in the local supermarket. My uncle happens to be good friends with the owner. Seems pretty easy, right? Not quite, as this job was not always on the table. Before the confirmation of this job, I practically ran around the town throwing my CVs at almost anyone who would take them. I didn’t care whether they were hiring or not, everyone, I mean everyone, was getting one! I took a trip to Dublin and popped CVs in most of the shops like Zara, Topshop, Brown Thomas, New Look, etc,. 

I was delighted to get the job in the supermarket. Ok, it wasn’t the most glamorous job, but a job is a job. Who was I to choose? You know what they say, ‘Beggars can’t be choosers’. So now I will spend the year, hopefully, working at this supermarket. My contract is 20-25 hours per week. Excluding teaching piano, this is my first proper job. And even that thought alone, scared me. What if I did things wrong? What if I got in trouble but didn’t mean too? Thoughts identical to those ran wild in my mind. I was sick to my stomach on the morning of induction. The major thing that shocked me, was how nice, helpful and co operative everyone who also works there was. I couldn’t believe how kind everyone was. No one minded when I asked them questions, they were happy to help!  

I spent my first day observing how the checkouts worked. I was thrown into work the next day being on my own on the checkout, which was probably the best thing for me. Of course, I made so many mistakes and honestly, I still do. But the difference is, I learn from them. It is not the same mistake constantly. I’ve noticed the reason everyone is willing to help each other is, all the ladies on the checkouts work as a team to get the job done in an efficient manner. When they help me, they are sharing their knowledge and it makes me more equipped for the job. Don’t be afraid to ask questions, the more you ask, the more you learn! 

Customers. Customers are quite a complex set of individuals. In a way, it’s like the teachers you have in school. Some could not be nicer, some are chatty or rude, some are so strict and uptight it’s ridiculous, some are constantly angry or are always moaning and some, from a student’s perspective, have no personality. Now multiply all these different types of teachers by ten, and you have the average customers that come through the checkout. In my experience, it is most the last type, Customer with No Personality, that comes through. I actually like these customers, because they are not rude or talkative, they are polite and pack their bags without any hassle. There are some customers that are just, putting it bluntly, not nice. Nothing you say or do will improve their mood. They are just grumpy or unhappy and there is nothing you can do to change that. The key thing is though, and it is one the most annoying sentences in this industry but it’s true, the ‘Customer is always right’. You have to be gracious and polite at all times. Even if that is completely out of your character, you have to do it. This isn’t school anymore, where the teacher could put you outside the door and then you could just come back in the next day. This is a job, and the consequences are much more serious like dismissal. And if it’s a job like being on the checkouts, you can easily be replaced. Remember customer’s grievances are not a personal attack on you, they just spoke to you. More than likely they would have spoke to one of your other colleagues in the same manner. So don’t take it personally! Keeping in mind that I was on the literal verge of tears on my first day, after giving a man the wrong amount of change. Two weeks later I would have handled the situation completely different and got his correct change (I didn’t know how to open the cash register twice in one transaction lol) Just always be polite and apologetic! 

Another thing about working, which is strange is the independence and the lack of independence at the same time. So your senior colleague will tell you when to go on break and how long it is for. But you need to keep track of the time because they won’t come and get you when your break is over. Of course, they’ll notice if you’re missing and get someone to call for you, but it is up to you to know when you’re suppose to go back working and make sure you’re not late. It is the same when you start working. No one will come and get you to tell you, that your shift has started, but if you are not there or are late, don’t worry they will definitely notice. See what I mean about the independence? Knowing where you are and where you should be and when you should be there, that is independence. But being restricted to certain times and operations, that is the lack of independence. 

So being new isn’t exactly fun, but no one finds it fun! The lack of a uniform is driving me insane because not only do all the other employees know that I’m new, so do the customers. Fingers crossed, it’ll be in soon. I’m wearing classic work clothes these days, not my normal clothes thank God. So they are all my notes on the working world. Remember keep track of time, ask questions, be polite and the ‘Customer is always right’. It is cliché but true. Have fun working! 

Leave a comment